NELSON TOWN BAND


THE NELSON TOWN BAND

The Nelson Town Band, under the direction of Donna Morse, has been instrumental (pun intended) in carrying on the tradition of a local town band. We play on town commons, church lawns, and parades throughout the Monadnock Region of southern New Hampshire, with occasional forays into Vermont.

The band is made up of players of all ages from the town of Nelson, NH and surrounding towns. Typically, the younger members are active in their school bands and many are very accomplished musicians who plan to pursue a serious study of music. Several of the older members have dusted off their instruments after many years and are discovering how much fun it is to play again.

The band practices every Sunday afternoon starting in March, and opens their season in Nelson with a Memorial Day concert, parade around the common, and a trip up the hill to the cemetery. The performance schedule becomes more vigorous as the summer goes on. We enjoy playing at the Maplewood community for elder folks, the ice cream socials on the Nelson Congregation Church lawn in July and early September, and the parades for the many old home day celebrations and other local events. In December, we put on a special holiday concert in the Nelson Town Hall.

Income from the concerts and parades goes to support students going to music camp, to other area musical programs in need of funding and to purchasing music for the band. We are very excited to announce that we are now in a partnership with the Nelson School(K-5) to both financially and musically support their emerging band program. The Nelson Town Band has also been able to contribute generously to purchasing new band chairs, a tuba and a stage piano at Keene High School, new uniforms for the Keene Middle School band as well as to other music programs in need.

 2023 EVENTS

JOIN US FOR THE 2023 HOLIDAY CONCERT ON SUNDAY, DEC. 17 AT 4PM IN THE NELSON TOWN HALL!!!! HOLIDAY REVELRY WILL ENSUE! (and free cookies too!!)


Thanks to all of you for your support of live music!

We look forward to a fun-filled season with a variety of music choices selected to please one and all! 

Hope to see you soon!

Sat May 27 @Marlow Memorial Day Parade

Sun May 28 @11:30am Nelson Mem. Day Concert/Cemetery Service


Tue Jun 20 @6:45pm Private Event Greenfield, NH

Fri Jun 30 @6:30-8:00pm Harrisville Old Home Days


Tue Jul 4 @12pm Andover, NH Parade

Sat Jul 8 @10:00am Stoddard Old Home Day Parade

Sun Jul 9 @6:30 Savings Bank of Walpole Concerts on the Green CANCELLED (weather)

Sat Jul 15 @10am Swanzey Old Home Day parade/concert 

Sun Jul 16 @4pm Nelson Ice Cream Social

Fri Jul 21 @7:00pm Potash Bowl Concert in Swanzey Concert at Whitcomb Hall in West Swanzey!

Tue Jul 25 @6:30pm Marlborough Frost Free Library Concert

Sun Jul 30 @6:30-8:00 Hinsdale Lions Club Concert


Sat Aug 5 @6:30pm Marlow Concert

Sat Aug 12 @12-12:45pm Nelson Old Home Day Concert

Tue Aug 15 @6:45pm Private Event Greenfield, NH

Sun Aug 20 @3:30pm Granite Lake Concert


Sun Sep 3 @3:00pm Nelson Ice Cream Social

Mon Sep 4 @1:00pm Milford Labor Day Parade

Sat Sep 23 @10:00am Winchester Pickle Festival


Sun Dec 17 @ 4:00pm Holiday Concert!! Nelson Town Hall